4/14/10 – Friends

I like to ask God questions.

Not big, heavy questions, like “Why is there suffering?”, or “Should I walk through Door A or Door B?”, or “What is your calling for my life?” Those questions are good to ask, and I have definitely asked them (and will certainly continue to ask them). But those aren’t the questions I’m talking about.

The questions I’m talking about, the ones I like to ask Daddy when it’s just me and Him hanging out on the front porch after a cool evening run, are simple ones. Ones like, “What’s your favorite color? Do you like sunrises or sunsets better? Were you barefoot when you walked in the garden of Eden? If it’s a nice day out and you’re just hanging out, do you like shoes or sandals? What’s your favorite kind of ice cream? Can you find the north star? Because I can’t. I always thought you found the Big Dipper and then followed the handle out, but that star doesn’t seem to stay in the north. Do you like climbing trees? Did you design trees specifically to be climbed? There’s no reason they have to be so tall and sturdy – except to hold the weight of someone standing on the branches. Do you like low-cut or ankle socks? What’s your favorite kind of music? What is your favorite kind of bird? What fish did you create and think, ‘Boy this one’s really going to send them for a loop!’? Do you like prairies or mountains? Do you like to swim in rivers or lakes? Do you like camping?”

I don’t think I’ve ever heard an answer for one of those questions, but that’s not the point. I like asking them because when I do, I feel so close to Daddy. I feel like we’re friends, and I imagine He really likes to be asked those things, because it’s me wanting to know His heart.

Hopefully, when I get to hang out with Him in person some day, we’ll go on a walk and I’ll ask Him all of these questions. And then I’ll give Him a big hug, because I can.

Oh, and the best part is that when I walked into the house to write this, my roommate was playing John Mark McMillan’s song, “How He Loves Us”.

I love you too, Daddy : )

Leave a Reply

