4/15/10 – Take A Load Off

This blog seems to be morphing into more about my life than about writing…

… but then maybe those two are the same….

Just a quick note: I went for a run late last night, and the air was cool and smelled of alfalfa. When I got back to the house, I sat on the porch for a long time and chatted with God, and at one point I realized that all of the nature shows we watch on the Discovery Channel have trained us to think wrongly.

All of the shows display the brutal truth about nature: some animals die, and some survive. It’s evolution’s way, right? Survival of the fittest.

That thinking has gotten into our relationships with Daddy. But He doesn’t see us like that. In our lives, in our relationships with Him, it’s not survival of the fittest. He loves the weakest things. In our weakness, He is strong.

When I sit down at my computer or pull out my spiral notebook to write, I don’t have to worry that if I’m weak, I’ll get picked off like a sickly calf. When I’m trying to find answers to decisions in life, I don’t have to worry that making the wrong decision will doom me to starve and freeze to death in the winter.

Because being loved by Daddy isn’t based on survival of the fittest. He was rich in mercy (abundant compassion toward those who deserve punishment or death) long before we were even born and had a chance to prove our strength. If He loved me even in my mother’s womb, then the level of my strength has nothing to with His feelings for me.

It’s not survival of the fittest.

Takes a load off, doesn’t it?

2 thoughts on “4/15/10 – Take A Load Off

  1. jeremykoepke

    Great thoughts! Relates to many areas of life (all of it I would imagine really..!), but loved the picture of sitting down at your computer or beginning to write – even the thoughts that come to an individual trying to be creative. The comparison of strongest/weakest is often a hindrance to letting Holy Spirit creativity be at work freely in us!

Leave a Reply

