Know Your Venue

onething’09

November has been a crazy month for me. Someone on the IHOP-KC Missions Base came up with the idea to do a nerf war: you sign up and receive the name of a random person in the group, and that person becomes your target. Once you shoot them, their target becomes your next one, etc. We called it No Peace November.

The turnout was beyond anything we expected. The promo video received over 2,000 views on YouTube, and over 200 people signed up! Simply crazy. We (being the behind-the-scenes folks) decided to do “war correspondance” throughout the month. By the end of November, we had released 18 videos online and received over 6,500 views!

On December 5th we had an awards ceremony and presented the award for Top Nerfer (Kyle Christensen with 12 people nerfed) and the Top Survivor (Karalyn Scott, the person who stayed alive the longest; she nerfed 11 people). There were many stories and much laughter.

We made one final video for the ceremony. On December 3rd a flurry of nerfing activity happened and I managed to capture the behind-the-scenes deliberations on video. I first transcoded the footage (from H.264 shot with a Canon T1i to DVCPRO HD 1080i60), which took two hours, and spent Dec. 5th cutting it together.

Boy was that a chore! The deliberations ran for three hours in real-time, and I was aiming for a final runtime of 3–4 minutes. Imagine my reaction when the content edit was almost 40 min! But that’s the name of the game, and so with a looming showtime of 8pm I buckled down and started editing at 1pm. It was a long process, and though the final runtime was longer than I initially wanted (9 min.) the video flowed well and wasn’t (I think) too boring. I then exported and ran off to the event just in the nick of time.

What almost ruined the whole thing—and now we finally get to the point of this post—was that I almost exported the video in the wrong format. Right at the last minute (it was definitely a reminder from the Lord), I remembered a crucial fact:

You must have Final Cut Pro installed in order to play the DVCPRO HD codec.

It might be a little known fact, but Apple licensed the DVCPRO HD codec from Panasonic only for use in Final Cut, and NOT in Quicktime. Thus if I had exported my video as DVCPRO HD and tried to play it on the iMac at the venue, there would have been audio but no picture. What a horrible thing that would have been!

The moral of the story is, know your venue. Know what equipment your video will play on and know what requirements/limitations it has. In my case my final output for the event was DVCPRO-NTSC. That is a codec I knew every computer could play with basic Quicktime, and though the quality wasn’t as good, it was what I had to do for my specific venue.

So when you go to show a video, especially in a venue that isn’t your own (such as the church you regularly attend or in your home), ask beforehand what equipment your video will play on.

Beforehand. Key word.

Photo by International House of Prayer

Leave a Reply

