Three Latest Projects

HELLO 2011!
It’s 2011! Crazy. And I don’t have a flying car yet. The injustice of it all.

Last year ended with onething 2010, with more than 20,000 coming to KC to seek Jesus. Our editing team at IHOP-KC worked hard through December and put together a lot of sweet videos. It definitely would’ve been a much harder month without the latest additions to our team.

I worked on three promos that showed at the conference. They are posted here for your viewing enjoyment.

Software Used
Editing: Final Cut Pro
Graphics: After Effects
Coloring: Magic Bullet Looks

OMEGA BOARD GAME
You automatically face an uphill battle when trying to market an End Times board game. Those two phrases are pretty paradoxical. A fun board game about the boring, serious topic of the end times? No thanks!

What we needed to show was: 1) the game is fun, and 2) the elements that make up the game (drawing, acting, and questions). The tagline at the end is especially important: “A new way to explore the end times.” It’s not about charts and graphs, but having a new way to explore how God is going to epically conclude the first part of human history. (Available at http://www.ihop.org/store)

JOY Album
My first step was to lay out the songs we wanted to highlight. Next I worked on the graphical parts in AE and figured out how I wanted to integrate the graphics. Then it was on to the b-roll edit. I scoured footage trying to find shots that captures the energy and excitement of what the Lord was doing. The final step was to color grade; I tried to match the footage with the album cover, and also overlaid all of it with a texture. (I talk HERE about recreating the CD cover in After Effects.)

My favorite shot is at the end when the violinist looks up and smiles brightly off-camera. Though not a shot we would typically put in a promo, it so perfectly captured the spirit of the album that I had to put it in. The result is an ending montage that makes me want to jump up and dance, and that’s always a good sign. (CD available from Forerunner Music)

IHOPU 2011
This is a redesign from last year’s promo, and we wanted to trim the content down (2010’s version was six min.) and rework particularly the intro graphics. Last year’s intro was a pretty rough version that didn’t match the rest of the graphics, so I wanted to unify the look.

I kept the IHOPU brochure close by and I think I matched the video with the print design really well. The promo now has a unified graphical style and also presents the vision and practicals of the college in a clear way. Mission accomplished. (Apply at http://www.ihop.org/ihopu)

ONWARD IN 2011
2011 for me is starting off with a bang. I visited family in Montana and Portland, Oregon, at the beginning of January and was able to buy a Macbook Pro while in Portland. That will open a lot of doors with editing, I think, and enable me to do a lot more freelancing.

One of those things will be editing videos during a ministry trip I’m going on next week to South Africa. I plan to post video updates of our trip, so keep an eye out for those. You can find those videos at http://www.southafrica2011.wordpress.com

Here’s many hours of editing in 2011!

Leave a Reply

