Books I read in 2014

2014 reading list post

I’m a couple months late in posting this, but I finally had time to jot down what I read in 2014. Unfortunately at some point during the year I lost the index card on which I kept track of what I read, but I think I was able to remember most of them. So here are the books I read in 2014, in no particular order.

Favorite Authors

My surprise find of the year was Sharon Cameron. Her steampunk novel The Dark Unwinding was imaginative and brilliantly worded. Her turn of phrase on some occasions and ways she flipped the character’s expectations were thrilling to read. She also had a great blend of that creepy feeling often found in classic gothic novels, similar to Kenneth Oppel in This Dark Endeavor. (Side note: I adore those two titles.)

After being introduced to Brandon Sanderson in 2013 with his Mistborn trilogy, I continue to be amazed at his writing on so many levels. He is ridiculously prolific and imaginative with his magic systems (they are all completely different and detailed). The highlight of his books, though, are the characters. Nowhere was this more evident than in The Way of Kings. Each character has such a deep emotional journey, and the payoff at the end is jaw-dropping. And this only the first book in a 10-part series! I’ve never committed to a massive, multi-part series before but I am definitely going to keep reading the Stormlight Archives.

James S.A. Corey wrote an exciting series of books starting with Leviathan Wakes. I think the first book is the strongest, but the whole series is adventurous and does a great job at expanding the story beyond what you thought it was going to be.

Lastly, Frank Peretti nailed it with his latest book Illusion. I’ve been a Peretti fan since ninth grade when I was finally allowed to read The Oath, but his recent books haven’t engaged me the same. Illusion turned out to be a fantastic book, and very moving in parts.

Books for 2015

This year looks like it will mostly be filled with sequels and new books from favorite authors. Sharon Cameron has a new book coming out called Rook, and Rachel Hartman, who wrote Seraphina, one of my favorite books of 2013, just released Shadow Scale. These two women are excellent writers, and I’m excited to see what they’ve come up with.

Other sequels are Sarah Maas’s Crown of Midnight and of course Words of Radiance, book two of Sanderson’s series. (He also has a follow-up to Steelheart. How does he make time for all of this?!)

I’ve also decided to read through the Harry Potter series. I wrote several years ago about why I didn’t finish them, but I think I’m ready to. So far the first two books have been great and I’m excited to finally finish the series.

Alrighty, enough talk. Let’s read. If you have any book suggestions, let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

